What a day for an adventure

Rosie’s take on… Exploring and epiphanies

I’ve been quite lost and helpless recently. I quit a pretty toxic job, and have been struggling to figure out exactly what it is that I want to be doing with my life. I think I’m having a quarter life crisis. As a result, I have had a severe lack of motivation for just about everything. I hadn’t even realised it’s been over a month since my last post. It would’ve been so easy for me to stay in bed yesterday morning, especially as it was bloody freezing. But I am so glad I got up and went for a hike at Lesmurdie Falls with my sister.


I do this thing every time I’m a little bit down. I know that I’ll feel better if I just get up and go somewhere, spend time outside and get moving. But still, I get stuck in a rut of staying inside, overthinking and feeling sorry for myself. Until there’s a time when I decide that enough’s enough, and force myself to do something. And then I realise that I actually enjoy it and feel way better. Go figure.  


I am a baby when it’s cold; there’s a reason this time last year I was just about to jet off to the other side of the world for the duration of winter. But yesterday turned out to be beautiful (not like today, wowee, don’t hold back, Perth winter). We rugged up, and it didn’t rain until we returned to our car, ready to go home. It’s like Mother Nature knew. Thanks, MN. You’re the best. Also, it’s impossible to be cold when walking up and down those stairs with that incline, so I didn’t even need to complain about being cold for once.

The best way to reach your inner zen is to spend time doing the things that makes your soul happy and relaxed. Just choose to do whatever it is that makes you happy. I was scared to leave my job, scared I wouldn’t get anything else, so I hung around for way longer than I should have. Word of advice: if you can’t stand waking up and going to work every morning, change it. You can always earn more money. You don’t want to get to seventy and realise you were always miserable, too busy making money to remember to make a life. It’ll work out. The next exciting step for me is coming soon, and I would never have gotten these upcoming opportunities if I hadn’t realised my mental state was more important and left that job.

And you know what, after my hike through the hills yesterday, after weeks of feeling lost, I feel better already. Spending time being zen gives you clarity. I resolved so many conflicts I had going on in my head while I was walking through nature in my favourite hoodie with my sister and her dog. 


I’m sick of feeling lost. So I’m getting back to basics, doing the things I know are guaranteed to make me feel good every time. Nature, exercise, writing, reading and spending time with people that warm my soul. And we’ll see where that takes me.

Happy little explorers

Leave a Reply

