Morning walk for the soul

Rosie’s take on… My happy place

I often find that it’s the simplest things that make my day a good one. And every time I’m like “why didn’t I do this sooner?” 

I’m often sulking and sooking about one thing or another, thinking that nothing can cheer me up and that my whole day is doomed. But then I do one tiny thing and my whole day suddenly looks up. Turns out I’m a bit of a drama queen. I live in extremes. 

I woke up this morning at 4am and couldn’t get back to sleep. Here we go, I thought. My day is doomed

Finally I accept it’s time to get up when it reaches 8am. I get up and put on my Lorna Jane clothes, like I do most days. I should mention I’m housesitting literally a street away from the beach. So I put on a jacket (sorry, why is it so windy?), and go for a walk. And you know what? Now it’s 9.06am and I’ve saved my entire day. 

The beach is one of the places that can instantly turn my whole day around. As soon as I kicked off my thongs and was walking with the sand between my toes, my mood started to lift. Everything started to feel much more positive. I had real clarity of what I want to achieve with my day. 

It even started to rain. But my mood was already lifted so high that I just started smiling in the rain. There’s something amazing about being caught in the rain when you have absolutely nowhere else you need to be. 


Look at that face. That’s the face of someone genuinely happy to be on the beach in the rain. I’m now feeling positive, motivated, and ready to take on the day. 

I keep seeing that quote: “you can’t get up and wait to see what kind of day you’re going to have, you have to get up and decide you’re going to have a good day.” But I don’t always find it that simple. Sometimes I need a little something to push me in the right direction. A walk to my happy place will do it every time.

So if today feels like everything is wrong, and the whole day is a write off, find that one thing that makes you happiest in the world. And go do it.

(Also yes, before I get the whole “I told you so” thing from my boyfriend. You were right. I did feel better for getting out of bed and just committing to it. And yes, I will probably still need you to say the same things tomorrow morning to make me get up.) 

Leave a Reply

