Home sweet home

Rosie’s take on… Being home 
I’ve been home from my adventure of a lifetime for just over a week now. I had planned to do more blogging but, as it has a habit of doing, life got in the way. (Don’t be surprised if soon you see a blog post “Rosie’s take on… Family, Divorce, Homelessness, New Ventures, Dating Parents, Job Hunting, and doing it all at once”).

I feel like I’m one of those people trapped on an island, keeping track of their days stuck there until they’re rescued.

It’s day 10, and life in this comparatively small city is still unusual to me. There are such vast distances between my desired locations, and I have to get around in a small, private vehicle rather than the crammed trains I had grown accustomed to. The nights are silent; gone are the sirens and car horns I am used to. The food is different. It’s like they’ve never heard of hot sauce or cheese in a liquid form. Rather than a vast concrete jungle, there are a few scarce buildings the locals try to call a skyline. I am counting down until I am rescued and returned to my true home. The City That Never Sleeps.

No but seriously. I’ve got the travel bug real bad. But when I make the most of it, being home has its pros. I went back to the gym the other day, the first time I had lifted any weight heavier than the average shopping bag in 3 months, and I am not even kidding when I say I’m pretty sure I’m now disabled. I have never ever had muscle soreness this bad. It’s giving me life; once I recover (probably in a few months times lmao), I can’t wait to get back into my old gym routine. Even though since I don’t actually have a house, the only time I’m anywhere near my gym is when I’m staying at my boyfriends house. And I’m sure he is ecstatic at the thought of me getting up at 5am to go to the gym. 

My dad moved into his new place a few days ago, and I was reminded of the excitement of setting up a new home. I set up his kitchen for him, and I remember how amazing it is having my own kitchen. I gotta get me another house of my own. But then again, I could really do with not paying rent for a while. Especially considering the whole unemployed thing. So maybe my nomad lifestyle, moving between my parents and boyfriends houses, isn’t too bad, despite how far apart they are. In the meantime, I’ll just make do with cooking in everyone else’s kitchens. 

Being home isn’t so bad, I guess. Yeah, the weather is pretty crappy still, but the weather is rapidly starting to cool in New York, so I’m not missing out on too much. Plus, the cool weather means I get a chance to wear all my new jeans and boots before summer hits. I’ve taken on a new challenge this week, and started tutoring some high school kids, because I’m one of those crazy people that actually likes English, and I want to rub some of that passion off on the people around me. 

So, I guess what I’m trying to say is that as long as it gets warm (and soon!), and I keep getting to do new things and go to the gym (once I eventually recover), life back in Perth is okay. 

Not too shabby
Leave a Reply

