Positive Vibes Only

Rosie’s take on… Love yo’ self 
This post is a little different to what I usually do, but I’ve had some serious epiphanies in the last month or so since I’ve been away and I’ve got some stuff I wanna say that I believe some people need to hear. So listen up.

When I was planning this trip to New York I got all excited about the possibilities, not just the career aspects.

Literally nobody here would know me, so I could be whoever I wanted, dress however I wanted. I decided I was going to try out all the things I was too scared to do at home, like get my hair all cut off (done!) and wear different clothes to that which I would usually wear.

The other week I was shopping in Victoria’s Secret (as I tend to do extremely regularly), and I found some absolutely beautiful bralettes. I didn’t try them on at first. 

Everyone has those flaws that people point out to them and identify them by. It’s a horrible feeling when someone points out something they find wrong with you, as I’m sure we can all agree, but it happens to all of us at some stage. 

For me, one of the flaws that I’ve had the pleasure of having pointed out to me over and over again for years happens to be my (lack of) chest. My boobs seemed to have missed the memo when puberty hit. I’m lacking in the chesticle department. However you want to say it, that’s been something people have been taking it upon themselves to point out to me for years. 

So when I saw these amazing bralettes the other week, with no cups and zero padding, I hesitated from trying them on because it would be more outwardly obvious that I am part of the itty bitty titty committee. There’s nowhere to hide when the only thing covering your boob is a piece of lace. But then I was like “oh wait, I’m in New York City. I can wear what I want!” So I tried it on. And you know what? I love it. I bought one at the time, and since then my collection has grown to four, and I will definitely be going back for more (much to the chagrin of my bank account. Yolo). 

This led to a full blown epiphany in the ways of self image and how I see myself, and how everyone else views themselves.  

I asked myself why I thought I had to wait until I was on the other side of the world to dress how I want? 

I also realised I actually really do not care about the size of my boobs, why should I have to start caring just because other people notice?

There’s really not a lot of point in me hating on my lack of bosom. There’s not a whole lot I can do about it. I personally am against plastic surgery, I’d rather have no boobs than fake ones. Plus, I know so many girls that wish they could wear pretty bralettes but their boobs are too big they don’t fit right, so in many ways I’m a winner. 

There’s not a lot of point on hating on parts of you that you can’t change, just because other people tell you they don’t like it. It doesn’t matter if they like it or not.

And guess what? Upon reflection, I literally don’t even count it as a flaw. It’s none of my business what other people think of me. Turns out this whole time I’ve been a proud member of the itty bitty titty committee. Who’da thought it, right? 

Now take my example of a ‘flaw’ that I’m actually totally okay with, and how I came to consciously realise that, and apply it to what people have been saying is ‘wrong’ with you. And realise they are wrong. There is nothing wrong with you.

I love that saying “I don’t care what you think about me, I don’t think about you at all.” So if you’re ever struggling, the negativity of others is getting you down, think of that quote for immediate empowerment. 

I know it’s cliché to say it, but a lot of the time when people criticise you it’s because they’re jealous. They might genuinely be jealous of other parts of you, so feel the need to put you down to feel better about themselves. Or, lets be honest, they could just be assholes. Stranger things have happened.

People will always find something they don’t like about you, whether it be something physical or not. If we let what other people think about us define how we feel about ourselves, we’d be living in a world where everyone was severely dissatisfied with themselves. And some would argue we’re already there. 

So embrace those things that others try to call a flaw, and remember that their opinion doesn’t define you. Their negative opinion doesn’t say anything about you, but it says an awful lot about them. Embrace those small boobies, big thighs, flat bum, chubby face, thin lips. Because you could look like goddamn Scarlett Johansson with skin made of diamonds and smell of sunshine, and people would still find something they don’t like about you. So you may as well like yourself. 

4 thoughts on “Positive Vibes Only

  1. I’m glad you realized there’s nothing wrong with you! I was once part of the IBTC, but mine finally grew in a bit once I gained weight 😂 but your point is fantastic! We shouldn’t let other people define us which leads us to feel bad about our flaws. Especially whenever we shouldn’t see them as flaws, just ourselves.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

