Concrete jungle where dreams are made of

Rosie’s take on… 2016 
First up, my bad for the long ass break since my last post. It was unintentional; I’ve been focusing so hard on getting through the weeks at work that I forgot to write, oops. But I’m back now! And it’s 2016! A whole new year, for us to do with as we wish. I don’t believe in New Years resolutions (difficult to choose things to work on when you’re already perfect, right?), and I didn’t make any this year. But I’m still excited about the things to come in 2016. 

I feel like it’s time I really start living. I go to the gym, I go to work, I watch some tv (at the moment I’ve just been watching the Star Wars movies over and over), anddd repeat. I was so caught up in my routine I didn’t even realise it had been like a month since I posted a blog last. I don’t want to look back and realise that’s all I ever did, stick to my routine. (I’m actually on holiday in Brisbane visiting my family at the moment and that’s really cool and fun, but apart from that, I’m boring). I want to go to new places. Furthermore, I want to be my own person before I let myself be defined by another. I want to spend time by myself, travel by myself. I honestly enjoy my own company more than anybody else’s, because I have everything in common with myself. I never have to worry about compromise when I’m by myself, I can be blissfully selfish. I am my own best friend. 

So basically, uni has been over for a while, I’ve had some time to relax and reflect. And I figure, there has to be more to life than working at a job that I lowkey dislike. I’m ready to get my life started now that I’ve finished uni; I’m finally not tied down by other commitments, for the first time ever.

So a few weeks ago I applied for an internship abroad program, whereby the company finds you (‘you’ being a recent university graduate, or within the final stages of study) a personalised internship in your field of study, gives you accommodation and some on the ground support, in a city of your choosing. 

I thought it was a long shot, but I decided to go for it. My dream is to go into Publishing or Editing, both incredibly competitive industries. Having experience in this tough field, in a busy and exciting city nonetheless, would be invaluable on my resume. 

One of the initial stages of the application process is an over-the-phone interview. It took me a good few weeks to pluck up the courage to even apply for this stage. But eventually I knew I’d never stop thinking about it if I didn’t try, so I scheduled my interview. I felt a bit disheartened after the call. The interviewer reminded me how competitive their program is; in fact, they typically receive around 20 000 applications a year, and only accept 1 000. I said goodbye and hung up the phone after the interview, happy that I’d tried but not feeling in any way confident. 

A few days later, I woke up to a missed call from 2am. They must have forgotten about the time difference. I checked my emails, and I had an email formally accepting my application. 

From the 2nd of July for 8 weeks, I will be interning in New York City. My internship hasn’t been placed yet, but it will be under the broad category of ‘Journalism, Publishing and Media’. As part of the program, I will be staying in the heart of the city and have opportunities to see all of New York Cities attractions, free access to public transport, and have a support team nearby if I were to need any help or support. (I’m excited to be an adult and go forth in this adventure alone, but happy there will be a team of real adults close by if required. Y’know, just in case). 

I am so excited to be putting my degree to good use, and I am so lucky to have been selected in such a competitive field. Plus, July is their summer, so I get to miss a big chunk of winter this year, and I gotta be pleased with that. I fell in love with the United States when I visited in 2014, and I have always wanted to go to New York. (I’ve watched Friends and How I Met Your Mother enough that I’ve been sold on the city for years). I am so excited to be able to get to know the city while developing my skills, knowledge and resume that will kickstart the career that I have always wanted. Plus, American food! If that’s not something to be excited about, I don’t know what is. 

So that is how I, Rosie, the most stubborn girl in the world who passionately hates change, have decided to embark on this adventure of a lifetime in one of the most exciting cities in the world. I, the person that has passionately discouraged change up until this point, is actively going out and seeking it. What’s more, I leave for New York mere days after my rental lease is up, so it means I have no ties to come back to, especially since my family are now living in Brisbane. I don’t know where I’m going to go after my 8 weeks in New York are up, but I, in a move shocking even to myself, have decided that I might not come back to Perth to live. What’s that? I’m finally becoming a real adult who makes decisions and stuff? Who’da thought, right? 

  

2 thoughts on “Concrete jungle where dreams are made of

Leave a Reply

